Our team 

site web.PNG

Sarah Bouhadoun 

Program Co-Founder 

Medical student - McGill University

Sarah is a third year medical student at McGill University. She went to high school at College Sainte-Marcelline, and pursued her post-secondary education at College Bois-de-Boulogne. She initially discovered the field of neurosciences when she participated to a Neurosciences competition organised by the Montreal Neurological Institute, which uncovered her true passion for the field of Neurology. She later had the opportunity to represent the province of Quebec at the National level, and this event initiated her to the mysterious yet iconic journey that is the study of the human brain.

Beyond her interest in the fields of medical education and public health, Sarah is also active in several research projects, primarily in the areas of epilepsy, multiple sclerosis and neonatal strokes. But despite her multiple occupations, she remains particularly dedicated to the education of at risk population, and more broadly, the field of preventative medicine. She greatly appreciates the contact with patients and their families and the cohesion and reciprocal respect and trust that can result from the alliance between a patient and a healthcare professional.

This is precisely what she aspires to offer by this initiative: a better access to knowledge, awareness to important medical issues and above all, opportunities to  open up dialogues and exchanges that matter most, the ones initiated by you.

Anne Bouthillier

Program Co-Founder 

Medical student - McGill University

Anne is a third-year medical student at McGill. She completed her high school studies at Collège Notre-Dame followed by her CEGEP studies at Collège André-Grasset. Anne discovered an interest in Ophthalmology research by chance when she received a research scholarship at the beginning of her medical studies. Eyes offering an unparalleled insight into the general health of the brain, Ophthalmology was for Anne her first point of contact with the neurological system of the human body and its complexity. She has since been fascinated by the nervous system, an interest that has led her to do clinical rotations in neurosurgery, neurology and geriatrics.  She is currently pursuing her research in Ophthalmology at the MUHC and working on a research project in Neurosurgery at the Montreal Neurological Hospital.

 

In her journey, Anne has also been fortunate to have a privileged relationship with individuals living with various cognitive and neurological disorders, as well as with their families. It is these deep discussions and this unique contact that led Anne to discover an interest in prevention and education. The project Stroke Aware meets Anne's desire to get involved in the health of her community and to take on a proactive role in terms of prevention.

Anne is convinced that a democratization of medical knowledge requires an inclusive, participatory and prevention-centred approach.

Anne.PNG

Ariana Szilagy

VP Communication

Medical student - McGill University

Ariana_Photo.jpg

Ariana is a first-year medical student at McGill. She completed her high school at Collège Notre-Dame and her CEGEP at Collège Jean-de-Brébeuf. Driven by her passion for biology and the understanding of the brain functionality, Ariana completed an undergraduate in Neurosciences at Université de Montréal before entering medical school.

During her studies, she had the opportunity to do research for the purpose of expanding medical knowledge at the Montreal Neurological Institute, where she worked in the field of brain damage prevention and oncology. It was then when she discovered her passion for aiding in the development of scientific knowledge and the desire in advocating for health. Therefore, she decided to further exploit her interest in promoting human health by getting into medical school, with the purpose of one day becoming a physician and helping the community. The ongoing journey towards achieving her goal has given her the privilege to build strong relationships with members of the community by working with both the young and the elderly, which is very empowering and life enriching experience.

 

Every now and then, Ariana helps the community by contributing in volunteer work, leading her to be part of the proactive group that is Stroke Aware. She believes that through education, we can one day resolve the lack of exposition to medical education in our society by preparing the population to respond properly to life threatening emergencies with the aim of preventing disease.

Maude Crevier

VP Events

Medical student - McGill University

Maude is a first-year medical student at McGill University. She had previously completed her high school degree at Collège Saint-Sacrement in Terrebonne and her CEGEP at Collège de Bois-de-Boulogne. Still at the very beginning of her studies, Maude is very curious about the whole medical field. The complexity and the mystery of the nervous system particularly interest her and she thus wants to find out more about it. That is why she is implicated in the management team of the Student Neurology Symposium 2020 and that she cherishes her position at Stroke Aware. In order to fulfill her curiosity, Maude is also part of the executive team of numerous committees at her university such as the emergency medicine interest group. She also did some research in urology.

 

By being part of this initiative, Maude hopes to help the public understand their own health and take control of it. She is a true advocate of prevention of diseases and hopes that her interventions will help raise awareness regarding the importance of a healthy lifestyle.

In order to do this, she wishes to initiate a noncritical dialogue aiming to promote open communication, a sense of companionship and, obviously, the pleasure of learning!

Maude_Photo.jpg

Carol-Ann Bédard-Plante

VP Marketing

Medical student - McGill University

Carol-Ann_Photo.jpg

Carol-Ann is a first-year medical student at McGill University who graduated in 2019 from the bachelor in Neuroscience at University of Montreal. It goes without saying that she has a marked interest in the human brain. To date, Carol-Ann has led a research project on sleep and brain damage following a head trauma at the Center for Advanced Research in Sleep Medicine (CARMS), in addition to being involved in several projects dealing with human stress at the Center for Studies on Human Stress (CSHS).

 

As VP Marketing, Carol-Ann is the organization’s social media manager. Beyond this administrative role, Carol-Ann is involved in Stroke Aware to actively participate in prevention by conducting workshops offered to the public. She believes that it is through prevention that we reduce adverse events and ultimately, we save lives. What motivates her above all, is to participate in knowledge dissemination to raise awareness among the general population.    
 

Noémie Maynard

Program Co-Founder 

Medical student - McGill University

Noémie will be VP Finance for Stroke Aware. Noémie is a second-year medical student at McGill University. Early on, Neurology and Internal Medicine piqued her interest and she got involved with various clubs and organizations that allowed her to learn more, she is very excited at the idea of starting her clinical rotations in these fields. Noémie is also passionate about preventative medicine and notably participated in a project that aimed to promote physical activity for cardiac health. She wanted to get involved with this initiative in order to promote autonomy and empowerment in those at risk of stroke and those around them. Her personal experience with loved ones who suffered a stroke also prompted her to participate in such an initiative in her community.

Noémie_Photo.jpg

Arthega Selvarajan

Program Co-Founder 

Medical student - McGill University

Arthega_Photo.jpg

Arthega is a first-year medical student at McGill University. She graduated from Sacred Heart School of Montreal and completed her secondary education at Marianopolis College. With her admittance to medical school, she was made aware that the general population deserved a clearer understanding of a myriad of topics. Topics such as neurodiversity, an ideology that every individual has a uniquely wired mind, and thus there exists a diversity of brains on a vast spectrum of neurological differences. To bridge this gap of knowledge, she founded and currently leads MSS Diverging Minds as Co-President to raise awareness about neurodiversity within the student population, through presentations at high schools and CEGEPs. Through her work in Diverging Minds, she was exposed to the complex yet fascinating aspects of the brain and sought to learn more.

 

During her path of learning, she was made aware of the lack of clinical training given to medical students with respect to neurodivergent patients. Hence, she developed and currently co-leads the Medical Intervention in a NeuroDiverse Society (MINDS) Taskforce dedicated to building workshops for medical students to adopt a more patient-centered practice with neurodivergent individuals. This initiative further developed Arthega’s interest in medical education geared towards aspects of neurology.

 

Devastatingly, early on in her medical journey, one of her family members passed away due to a stroke. Having gone through that sudden traumatic event, she was motivated to raise awareness of the complexities of stroke. Thus, the project Stroke Aware met Arthega’s need to equip both herself and the general population with the knowledge of stroke prevention, identification and treatment.

 

Arthega hopes that through Stroke Aware, she will have the privilege to sensitize the population to stroke and proactively aid in stroke prevention.

Sarah Amirali

VP Rehabilitation

Medical student - McGill University

Sarah is a first-year medical student at McGill University. She graduated with a degree in Health Science at Vanier College and with a Bachelor’s and Master’s degree in Physiotherapy at McGill University. Sarah has been captivated with the realm of neuroscience since completing numerous courses in Neurophysiology and Neuroanatomy. Her fascination and curiosity of the brain’s intricacies have since matured. Sarah later completed her master’s research project with the BRaIN program at the MUHC where she operated a brain-computer interface that coupled the power of technology with the power of the human brain. 

 

Sarah has also assisted stroke and TBI patients at the MGH recover through rehabilitation. These experiences taught her the importance of stroke prevention and taking prompt measures. Stroke Aware is the perfect opportunity for her to educate others and raise awareness regarding stroke to the general population. 

Sarah_Photo.jpg

Notre équipe

site web.PNG

Sarah Bouhadoun 

Cofondatrice du programme

Étudiante en médecine - Université McGill 

Sarah étudiante en médecine en troisième année à l’université McGill a effectué ses études secondaires au collège Sainte-Marcelline avant de poursuivre ses études collégiales au Cegep de Bois-de-Boulogne. Durant son parcours scolaire, elle découvre les neurosciences lors d’une compétition organisée par l’Institut de Neurologie de Montréal, lors de laquelle elle se dévoilera une réelle passion pour le domaine des neurosciences et de la neurologie. Elle sera ensuite emmenée à représenter le Québec lors de l’édition nationale, et cet évènement l’initiera au périple à la fois emblématique et énigmatique que représente l’étude du cerveau humain.

Au-delà de son intérêt dans les domaines de l’éducation médicale et de la santé publique, Sarah effectue de la recherche dans les domaines de l’épilepsie, de la sclérose en plaque ainsi que dans le domaine des AVC néonataux.  Mais à travers ces nombreuses occupations, elle confère une importance particulière à la prévention des populations à risque et à l’éducation du grand public. En effet, elle apprécie beaucoup le contact avec les patients ainsi que leur famille, l’échange souvent cohésif et révélateur et la reconnaissance réciproque d’une alliance entre un individu et son professionnel de la santé. 

 

C’est ce qu’elle désire offrir à travers cette initiative, un accès nouveau à la connaissance, une sensibilisation aux enjeux médicaux importants et surtout, une ouverture aux dialogues et aux échanges qui importent le plus, c’est-à-dire ceux initiés par vous, le grand public!
 

Anne Bouthillier

Cofondatrice du programme

Étudiante en médecine - Université McGill 

Anne est une étudiante de troisième année en médecine à McGill. Elle a fait ses études secondaires au Collège Notre-Dame suivies de ses études collégiales au Collègue André-Grasset. Anne s’est découvert par hasard un intérêt pour la recherche en ophtalmologie en recevant une bourse de recherche dès le début de ses études en médecine. Les yeux offrant un panorama sans pareil sur la santé générale du cerveau, l’ophtalmologie a été pour Anne son premier point de contact avec le système neurologique du corps humain et sa complexité. Elle est, depuis, fascinée pas l’étude du système nerveux; un intérêt qui l’a poussée à faire des stages cliniques en neurochirurgie, neurologie et gériatrie.  Elle poursuit présentement ses recherches en ophtalmologie au CUSM et travaille sur un projet de recherche en neurochirurgie à l’hôpital Neurologique de Montréal.

 

Dans son parcours, Anne a également eu la chance d’avoir un rapport privilégié avec des individus vivants avec divers troubles cognitifs et neurologiques, ainsi qu’avec leur famille. Ce sont ces longues discussions et ce contact unique qui ont mené Anne à se découvrir un intérêt pour la prévention et l’éducation. Le projet Démasquer l’AVC répond à l’envie d’Anne de s’impliquer dans la santé de sa communauté et d’adopter un rôle proactif en terme de prévention.

 

Anne est convaincue que la démocratisation du savoir médical passe par une approche inclusive, participative et centrée sur la prévention.

Anne.PNG

Ariana Szilagy

Responsable des communications

Étudiante en médecine - Université McGill 

Ariana_Photo.jpg

Ariana est une étudiante en première année de médecine à McGill. Elle a complété ses études secondaires au Collège Notre-Dame et son CEGEP au collège Jean-de-Brébeuf. Animée par sa passion envers la biologie et la compréhension du cerveau, Ariana a poursuivi ses études en Neurosciences à l’Université de Montréal avant d’entrer à la faculté de médecine.

Durant ses études, elle a eu l’opportunité de faire de la recherche dans le but d’élargir les connaissances scientifiques et médicales à l’Institut Neurologique de Montréal, où elle a travaillé dans le domaine de la prévention des lésion cérébrales et de l’oncologie. C’est alors qu’elle a découvert son aspiration à encourager le développement du savoir scientifique ainsi que la promotion de la santé. Ariana a décidé d’exploiter cette voie et de devenir médecin, pour un jour aider la communauté. Le cheminement continu vers la réalisation de cet objectif lui a donné le privilège de nouer des relations solides avec les membres de la communauté, et ce, par l’entremise du travail avec les jeunes, les adultes et les personnes âgées.

De temps à autre, Ariana s’implique activement de façon bénévole, ce qui l’as conduite à faire partie du groupe Démasquer l’AVC. Elle estime qu’à travers l’éducation, nous pourrons un jour résoudre le manque d’exposition à l’éducation médicale dans notre société, en préparant la population à répondre adéquatement aux situations d’urgence afin de prévenir les maladies.

Maude Crevier

Responsable des évènements

Étudiante en médecine - Université McGill 

Maude est une étudiante en médecine de première année à l’université McGill. Elle avait auparavant effectué ses études secondaires au Collège Saint-Sacrement à Terrebonne, puis elle s’est dirigée au Collège de Bois-de-Boulogne pour effectuer son parcours collégial. Encore au tout début de sa scolarité, Maude est très curieuse face à l’ensemble du domaine médical. La complexité et le mystère entourant le système nerveux l’intéressent particulièrement et elle souhaite donc en découvrir davantage. C’est pourquoi elle est impliquée dans le comité organisationnel du Symposium étudiant en neurologie 2020 et qu’elle chérit sa position à Démasquer l’AVC. Afin de nourrir sa curiosité, Maude fait aussi partie de l’équipe de gestion de plusieurs comités variés de son université dont le groupe d’intérêt envers la médecine d’urgence. Elle a aussi effectué de la recherche dans le domaine de l’urologie.
 

En faisant partie de cette initiative, Maude espère aider le public à comprendre sa propre santé et en prendre le contrôle. Elle attache une importance particulière à la prévention des maladies et espère que ses interventions permettront de sensibiliser la population quant à l’importance d’un mode de vie sain.
 

Pour ce faire, elle souhaite amorcer un dialogue non critique qui vise à l’échange, la camaraderie et bien sûr, le plaisir d’apprendre !

Maude_Photo.jpg

Carol-Ann Bédard-Plante

Responsable du marketing

Étudiante en médecine - Université McGill 

Carol-Ann_Photo.jpg

Carol-Ann est une étudiante de première année en médecine à l’Université McGill ayant gradué, en 2019, du baccalauréat en neurosciences de l’Université de Montréal. Il ne va sans dire qu’elle a un intérêt marqué pour le cerveau humain. À ce jour, Carol-Ann a mené un projet de recherche portant sur le sommeil et les dommages cérébraux à la suite d'un traumatisme crânien au Centre d'études avancées en médecine du sommeil (CÉAMS), en plus de s’être impliquée dans plusieurs projets portant sur le stress humain au Centre d'études sur le stress humain (CESH).          

 

En tant que responsable marketing, Carol-Ann est gestionnaire des réseaux sociaux de l’organisation. Au-delà de ce rôle administratif, Carol-Ann s’est engagée dans Démasquer l’AVC pour participer activement à la prévention en animant des ateliers offerts au public. Elle est persuadée que c’est par la prévention qu’on réduit les tragédies et qu’ultimement, on sauve des vies. Ce qui la motive par-dessous tout, c’est de vulgariser l’information scientifique de sorte à sensibiliser la population.

Noémie Maynard

Responsable des finances

Étudiante en médecine - Université McGill 

Noémie sera VP Finance pour Démasquer l’AVC. Noémie est étudiante en deuxième année de Médecine à l’Université McGill. Dès le début de son parcours la Neurologie et la Médecine Interne ont piqué sa curiosité et elle s’en investi dans divers club et organisations rejoignant ces intérêts et elle est très excitée à l’idée de débuter ses rotations cliniques pour en découvrir davantage sur ces domaines. Noémie est aussi passionnée par la médecine préventive. Elle a notamment participé à un projet sur la promotion de l’activité physique pour la santé cardiaque. Elle a voulu s’impliqué dans ce projet de sensibilisation afin de cultiver l’autonomie et la confiance des gens en matière de leur santé. Son expérience personnelle avec des proches ayant souffert d’un AVC l’ont aussi poussé à participer à une telle initiative dans sa communauté.

Noémie_Photo.jpg

Arthega Selvarajan

Responsable de l'éducation

Étudiante en médecine - Université McGill 

Arthega_Photo.jpg

Arthega est étudiante en première année de médecine à l'université McGill. Elle est diplômée de l'école du Sacré-Cœur de Montréal et a poursuivi ses études au collège Marianopolis. À l’initiation de ses études en médecine, elle a pris conscience que la population en général méritait une meilleure compréhension d'une myriade de sujets tels que la neurodiversité, une idéologie selon laquelle chaque individu a un esprit unique, et qu'il existe donc une diversité de cerveaux sur un vaste spectre de différences neurologiques. Pour combler cet écart de connaissances, elle a fondé et dirige actuellement MSS Diverging Minds en tant que coprésidente afin de sensibiliser la population étudiante à la neurodiversité, par le biais de présentations aux écoles secondaires et aux cégeps. Grâce à son travail avec Diverging Minds, elle a été exposée aux aspects complexes mais fascinants du cerveau et a cherché à en apprendre davantage. 

 

Au cours de son parcours d'apprentissage, elle a été sensibilisée au manque de formation clinique donnée aux étudiants en médecine en ce qui concerne les patients neurodivergents. Elle a donc mis sur pied et codirige actuellement le groupe "Medical Intervention in a NeuroDiverse Society" (MINDS), qui se consacre à la mise en place d'ateliers permettant aux étudiants en médecine d'adopter une pratique plus centrée sur le patient avec des personnes atteintes de neurodivergence. Cette opportunité a permis à Arthega de développer davantage son intérêt pour l'enseignement médical axé sur les aspects de la neurologie.

 

Au début de son parcours médical, un membre de sa famille est décédé des suites d'une attaque cérébrale. Ayant vécu cet événement traumatisant soudain, elle était motivée à sensibiliser les gens aux complexités de l'attaque. Ainsi, le projet Démasquer l’AVC a répondu au besoin d'Arthega de se doter, ainsi que la population en général, de connaissances en matière de prévention, d'identification et de traitement des accidents vasculaires cérébraux.

 

Arthega espère que grâce à Démasquer l’AVC, elle aura le privilège de sensibiliser la population aux accidents vasculaires cérébraux et de contribuer de manière proactive à leur prévention.

Sarah Amirali

Responsable de la réadaptation

Étudiante en médecine - Université McGill 

Sarah est étudiante en première année de médecine à l’Université McGill. Elle a obtenu un diplôme en sciences de la santé au Collège Vanier, en plus d'un baccalauréat et d'une maîtrise en physiothérapie à l’Université McGill. Sarah a été captivé par le domaine des neurosciences depuis qu’elle a suivi de nombreux cours de neurophysiologie et de neuroanatomie. Sa fascination et sa curiosité pour les subtilités du cerveau n'ont cessé de grandir depuis. Sarah a par la suite terminé son projet de recherche de maîtrise avec le programme BRaIN au CUSM où elle exploitait une interface du cerveau-ordinateur qui ajoute la puissance de la technologie à la puissance du cerveau humain.

 

Sarah a également aidé les patients victimes d’AVC et de traumatisme crânio-cérébral (TCC) à l’Hôpital Général de Montréal à se rétablir par la réadaptation. Ces expériences lui ont appris l’importance de la prévention des accidents vasculaires cérébraux et de la prise de mesures rapides. Démasquer L’AVC est l’occasion idéale pour elle d’éduquer les autres et de sensibiliser la population en général à l’AVC.

Sarah_Photo.jpg